President of SA Rugby Mark Alexander has congratulated Springbok centre Lukhanyo Am and Springbok Women wing Nomawethu Mabenge. The pair have been nominated in the annual World Rugby Awards.

The nominations were announced on Monday on World Rugby’s social media channels. The winners will be announced on Sunday evening.

Am was also named as one of the nominees for the World Rugby Men’s 15s Player of the Year in partnership with Mastercard. Mabenge was nominated in the category for International Rugby Players Women’s Try of the Year. This is for her score in the first Test against Spain in Potchefstroom on 19 August.

Along with Am, the other nominees in the Men’s 15s Player of the Year category are last year’s winner, Antoine Dupont of France. And also, the Ireland duo of Johnny Sexton and Josh van der Flier.

Sylvia Blunt (NZ), Abby Dow (England), Emily Chancellor (Australia) and Linda Djougang (Ireland) were nominated for Women’s Try of the Year with Mabenge, who scored five tries in seven Tests this year. This includes South Africa’s first five-pointer against France in their Rugby World Cup opener.

SA Rugby Springboks
SA Rugby Springboks


“On behalf of SA Rugby and South Africa’s passionate rugby fans, we would like to congratulate Lukhanyo and Nomawethu for their nominations this year,” said Mr Alexander.

“Only the best of the best are nominated for World Rugby awards. To be part of these selected groups is a superb achievement, we are also very proud of them.

“Lukhanyo was in superb form for the Springboks before an unfortunate injury cut short his season. He has cemented his place in our backline over the last few seasons, growing in confidence and playing better every year.

“On her part, Nomawethu has developed into a brilliant wing who knows her way to the tryline, scoring five tries this season. But the try against Spain stood out as it was a wonderful team effort, finished by one of our speedsters.”


Fans can vote for their favourite try of the year by clicking here, until Thursday, 17 November at 23h59 (GMT). The Awards ceremony is taking place in Monaco on Sunday 20 November. They will be streamed live on the World Rugby website, with exclusive content posted on the @WorldRugby social media channels.


6 Replies to “SA Rugby congratulates Am and Mabenge on World Rugby nominations

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *