The nominees for the SAFA 2022 Hollywoodbets Super League Awards have been unveiled and Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies dominate the list.

The awards ceremony will be held at the Sandton Convention Centre on Saturday, 3 December 2022 in Johannesburg where individuals who excelled this season will be honoured. Sundowns Ladies were officially crowned as the 2022 Hollywoodbets Super League Champions after a thrilling 4-2 victory over Richmond United Ladies in the final match.


The Pretoria side is well represented on the nomination list. Sedilame Boseja has been nominated in the Goalkeeper of the Year category. She will be up against UWC’s Regirl Ngobeni and Bloemfontein Celtic goalie Katlego Moletsane. Sundowns Ladies have two representatives in the Player of the Year award category. Bambanani Mbane and Boitumelo Rabale will face off against TUT’s Busisiwe Ndimeni. In the Coach of the Year category, Sundowns Ladies mentor Jerry Tshabalala will compete against UWC’s Thinasonke Mbuli and TUT’s Lucky Sibiya.

Hollywoodbets Super League Awards nominees
Hollywoodbets Super League Awards nominees

The Pretoria side have been a dominant force in the last few years. They won their third championships in a row last week. Sundowns have been champions since the League’s inception in 2019.

They continue to dominate the league with the best records as they managed to win this year’s title. That was with eight matches to spare. No other team could have mathematically caught up with them and they strolled to the title.

The Pretoria-based side have also managed to set outstanding records along the way. They only conceded 13 goals in 30 matches and found the back of the net a staggering 126 times.

They also walked away with R2 million and will represent South Africa in the 2023 CAF Women’s Champions League Zonal qualifiers, where they will be looking to qualify for their third consecutive Champions League.


One Reply to “Nominees for Hollywoodbets Super League Awards unveiled”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *