Proteas bowler Kagiso Rabada is amongst four South Africans who have made it to the ICC teams of the year.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday completed announcements of the ICC Teams of the Year. A feature of the 2022 ICC Awards which captures the best combined XIs across the different formats of both men’s and women’s international cricket.

Momentum Proteas trio Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka and Laura Wolvaardt were named in the ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year. Kagiso Rabada was named in the ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year.

11 countries are represented across the various lineups.


ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year:

1 Usman Khawaja (Australia)

2 Kraigg Brathwaite (West Indies)

3 Marnus Labuschagne (Australia)

4 Babar Azam (Pakistan)

5 Jonny Bairstow (England)

6 Ben Stokes (c) (England)

7 Rishabh Pant (wk) (India)

8 Pat Cummins (Australia)

9 Kagiso Rabada (South Africa)

10 Nathan Lyon (Australia)

11 James Anderson (England)

ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year:

1 Babar Azam (c) (Pakistan)

2 Travis Head (Australia)

3 Shai Hope (West Indies)

4 Shreyas Iyer (India)

5 Tom Latham (wk) (New Zealand)

6 Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe)

7 Mehidy Hasan Miraz (Bangladesh)

8 Alzarri Joseph (West Indies)

9 Mohammed Siraj (India)

10 Trent Boult (New Zealand)

11 Adam Zampa (Australia)

ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year:

1 Jos Buttler (c) (wk) (England)

2 Mohammad Rizwan (Pakistan)

3 Virat Kohli (India)

4 Suryakumar Yadav (India)

5 Glenn Phillips (New Zealand)

6 Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe)

7 Hardik Pandya (India)

8 Sam Curran (England)

9 Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka)

10 Haris Rauf (Pakistan)

11 Josh Little (Ireland)

Ayabonga Khaka Momentum Proteas
Ayabonga Khaka Momentum Proteas


ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year:

1 Smriti Mandhana (India)

2 Beth Mooney (Australia)

3 Sophie Devine (c) (New Zealand)

4 Ash Gardner (Australia)

5 Tahlia McGrath (Australia)

6 Nida Dar (Pakistan)

7 Deepti Sharma (India)

8 Richa Ghosh (wk) (India)

9 Sophie Ecclestone (England)

10 Inoka Ranaweera (Sri Lanka)

11 Renuka Singh (India)

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year:

1 Alyssa Healy (wk) (Australia)

2 Smriti Mandhana (India)

3 Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa)

4 Nat Sciver (England)

5 Beth Mooney (Australia)

6 Harmanpreet Kaur (c) (India)

7 Amelia Kerr (New Zealand)

8 Sophie Ecclestone (England)

9 Ayabonga Khaka (South Africa)

10 Renuka Singh (India)

11 Shabnim Ismail (South Africa)


2 Replies to “Proteas players included in the ICC teams of the year

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *