South African under-17 national team coach Duncan Crowie has announced a 21-man squad for the 2023 Under-17 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon). The CAF tournament will take place in Algeria from 29 April-19 May 2023.

The team reported for camp on 9 April 2023 with 28 players at the SAFA National Technical Centre (Fun Valle). 


“No one in the preparation camp was a bad player. Everyone was a talented player, but unfortunately, we had to select only 21,” said Crowie at a Press Conference held at SAFA House on Tuesday afternoon. 

“This is not my party as the coach, but this is the party of the 21 players that are selected. It’s all about them and it is beyond the technical team. They are the ones who will represent the country.

“So far I am happy with the preparations and I hope that we can continue in the same vein towards the tournament.”

Duncan Crowie has named the final squad for Under-17 AFCON
SA Under-17 Squad in training ahead of the Afcon in Algeria

The team is expected to depart for Algeria on Friday, 21 April 202



Takalani Mazhamba (Kaizer Chiefs FC)

Gennaro Johnson (Cape Town Spurs FC)

Kyle Jansen (Atlanta United FC)


4. Xhosa Manyama (Cape Town City FC)

5. Keitumetse Lesia (Supersport United FC)

6. Waylon Renecke (Norwich City FC)

7. Benjamin Wallace (Supersport United FC)

8. Vincent Sithole (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

9. Tyler Cicero (Stellenbosch FC)

10. Thato Sibiya (Mamelodi Sundowns FC0


11. Xolani Tshaka (Orlando Pirates FC)

12. Gomolemo Kekana (TS Galaxy FC)

13. Vicky Mkhawana (Kaizer Chiefs FC)

14. Xavier Jodamus (Ubuntu Academy)

15. Dhakier Lee (Cape Town Spurs FC)


16. Luke Baartman (Cape Town Spurs FC)

17. Michael Dokunmu ( Vittese FC)

18.Orifha Maubelo (Capital City FC)

19. Bennet Mokoena (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)

20. Gabriel Amato (Capital City FC)

21. Siyabonga Mabena (Mamelodi Sundowns FC


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *