SAFA insists its all systems go for the much-awaited 2023 ABC Motsepe League National Playoff despite ongoing court cases. The playoffs are scheduled to take place at the Harry Gwala Stadium in Pietermaritzburg from 6-11 June 2023.

The two finalists will gain promotion to the Motsepe League Championship for the 2023/2024 season.

Also read: ABC Motsepe National Playoffs draw revealed

The draw was held last week in Johannesburg but there has been two changes since then. The Free State announced FC Buffalo as their provincial winner last Wednesday.

A court ruling in the Western Cape declared Zizwe United as the official winner of the Western Cape. This meant that Young Bafana were replaced by Zizwe United to represent the province. But there could be another twist which could jeopardise the commencement of the playoffs.

Young Bafana escalated the matter to the Gauteng High Court after they did not accept the ruling. The court ruled in favour of Bafana. But SAFA seems to be ignoring the ruling if their latest statement on Monday is anything to go by.


Gauteng’s Dondol Stars were drawn top of Group A alongside Umsinga United of KwaZulu Natal and Free States’s FC Buffalo.

Group B will be made up of coastal sides Amavarara FC from the Eastern Cape, Western Cape’s Zizwe United and Upington City from Northern Cape.

Group C is dominated by clubs from the Inland Provinces as Orbit College from North West drew top of the group alongside Mpumalanga’s Mlambo Royal Cubs and Mpheni Home Defenders from Limpopo.

ABC Motsepe League national playoffs to go ahead
Mpheni Home Defenders

All group-stage matches will be live-streamed on the SAFA Facebook page.
The semi-finals will be played on Friday 9 June 2023 at Harry Gwala Stadium with the final pencilled for the same venue on 11 June 2023.

These matches will also be broadcast live on SABC Sport and SABC 1.

By Khotso Ramalatswa


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *