Springbok coach Jacques Nienaber has named a squad of 26 players for their opening Rugby World Cup warm-up game in Argentina. The match will take place on Saturday, 5 August.

Several players who did not feature against the Pumas on Saturday will board the airplane early on Sunday morning.

The players in the travelling contingent who were involved in the team’s 22-21 victory against the Pumas in Johannesburg earlier on Saturday are Steven Kitshoff, Vincent Koch, Trevor Nyakane (all props). Bongi Mbonambi (hooker), Marvin Orie (lock), Manie Libbok (flyhalf), Kurt-Lee Arendse (wing), Jesse Kriel, Lukhanyo Am (both centres) and Damian Willemse (utility back).

ALSO READ: Nienaber to step down as Springbok coach 

“Next week’s match is the last opportunity for the players to make a strong statement for selection before we name our Rugby World Cup squad. We are excited to see what those players will deliver in what is going to be a testing encounter in Buenos Aires,” said Nienaber.

“It’s extremely tough to play there. Argentina enjoys massive support from their vocal home crowd. So it’s not only going to be a physical test for the players, but a mental one as well.

Springbok coach Jacques Nienaber names 26-man squad for warm-up match
Springbok coach Jacques Nienaber


Props: Thomas du Toit, Steven Kitshoff, Vincent Koch, Gerhard Steenekamp, Trevor Nyakane.
Hookers: Bongi Mbonambi, Joseph Dweba.
Locks: Lood de Jager, Jean Kleyn, Marvin Orie.
Loose forwards: Jean-Luc du Preez, Evan Roos, Jasper Wiese.
Utility forwards: Deon Fourie, Franco Mostert.
Scrumhalves: Jaden Hendrikse, Herschel Jantjies, Cobus Reinach.
Flyhalf: Manie Libbok.
Centres: Lukhanyo Am, Andre Esterhuizen, Jesse Kriel.
Outside Backs: Makazole Mapimpi, Canan Moodie, Kurt-Lee Arendse.
Utility back: Damian Willemse.


Forwards: Pieter-Steph du Toit (loose forward), Eben Etzebeth (lock), Siya Kolisi (flank), Frans Malherbe (prop), Malcolm Marx (hooker), Ox Nche (prop), Kwagga Smith (loose forward), RG Snyman (lock), Marco van Staden (flank), Duane Vermeulen (No 8).

Backs: Damian de Allende (centre), Faf de Klerk (scrumhalf), Cheslin Kolbe (wing), Willie le Roux (fullback), Handre Pollard (flyhalf), Grant Williams (scrumhalf).

Meanwhile, the Springboks secured a hard-fought 22-21 Castle Lager Rugby Championship victory over Argentina on Saturday.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *