Hollywoodbets athletics runner Mathews Leeto won his first Foskor 21km Marathon race while Glenrose Xaba [Main Picture] defended her title but miss out on the women’s record. The 28th edition of the annual F21km Marathon took place in Namakgale, Phalaborwa in Limpopo on Saturday.

As expected, thousands of runners ascended to Foskor Community Centre.

ALSO READ: Foskor 21km Marathon to host its 28th edition

The Marathon was graced by amongst others Limpopo MEC for LEDET Rodgers Monama and CEO for Limpopo Tourism Agency Moses Ngobeni. Activities on the day included a Relay Race for employees and contractors at 06:30. 5km Race for primary school children.

10km Development Race for children under the age of 15 and a fun walk. The main race began at 13:30. 

Glenrose Xaba miss out on Foskor's 21km record by 15 seconds
Mathews Leeto

Leeto says despite winning the race, he was not his usual self on the day. 

“It was good to win but before the race, I was not feeling well. So things were not going according to plan. 

“I wanted to challenge myself for the record but at the end of the day, I accept the results. The race was slow, but I took the charge from 8km. I did know that I was out of contention for the record [immediately at the beginning].”

Glenrose Xaba miss out on Foskor 21km Marathon record by 15 seconds
2023 Foskor 21km Marathon starting point

Leeto missed out on the 1:01:55 record set by Ezael Thlobo in 1997 when he ran 1:03:44. He takes home R 50 000 for his efforts. 


Meanwhile, Glenrose Xaba defended her title but missed out on the female record set by Elana Meyer by only 15 seconds. In 1999, Meyer ran a time of 01:12:19 while Xaba clocked in at 1:12:32. She won last year’s event at 01:13:55.

“The race was cool, very hard and difficult. This year was simple for me because I knew the routes but I was not going to break the record but I wanted to run faster.”

Xaba also reveals the moment she realised she would not break the record. 

“When I came to the finish line, that’s when I started to jog,” she said. 

Glenrose Xaba miss out on Foskor's 21km record by 15 seconds
Limpopo MEC for LEDET Rodgers Monama



1. Mathews Leeto | 1:03:44 [𝗥𝟱𝟬 𝟬𝟬𝟬]

2. Namakoe Nkhasi | 1:03:58

3. Elijah Mabhunu | 1:04:18


1. Glenrose Xaba | 1:12:32 [𝗥𝟱𝟬 𝟬𝟬𝟬]

2. Rutendo Nyahora | 1:17:43

3. Blandina Makatisi | 1:18:56


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *