The Nominees for the 18th edition of Momentum Gsport Awards were announced on Tuesday.

Andile Dlamini, Jessica Nkomo, Kgothatso Montjane from Seshego and Samantha Wright are double finalists for Africa’s longest-running women’s sports awards.

ALSO READ: Ismail and Nortje win top accolade at CSA Awards

Limpopo-based journalist Lethabo Kganyago [main picture] is nominated in the Mail & Guardian Woman in Print category.

There’s double glory for the most celebrated athlete on the gsport stage, Kgothatso Montjane, who features in the Brand SA Para Sport Star of the Year and Global Woman in Sport categories. 

In 2023, Montjane has broken barriers winning her first Grand Slam title at the French Open in the wheelchair doubles category. She then went on to win in the same category at the French Riviera Open. 

The public help choose the winners through free voting which kicks off in the gsport Voting Hall at [] on Tuesday, 22 August 2022.

Voting will close at midnight on Thursday, 31 August 2022.


Momentum Athlete of the Year

Andile Dlamini

Lara van Niekerk

Laura Wolvaardt

Telkom Woman of the Year

Andile Dlamini

Ashleigh Buhai

Natasha Petersen

DP WORLD African Woman in Sport

Akhona Makalima

Faith Kipyegon

Tabitha Chawinga

Brand SA Para Sport Star of the Year

Charlene Pienaar

Kgothatso Montjane

Simoné Kruger

SuperSport School Sports Star of the Year

Alicia Khunou

Kaitlyn Ramduth

Karla Victor

SuperSport Woman in Television

Julia Stuart

Vusiwe Ngcobo

Xoli Zondo

Mail & Guardian Woman in Print

Lethabo Kganyago

Lynn Butler

Palesa DeeJay Manaleng

Momentum gsport Awards 2023 nominees revealed
Kgothatso Montjane

Global Woman in Sport

Hendrien Grove

Kgothatso Montjane

Leila Steyn-Daku

gsport Emerging Athlete of the Year

Kyra van Kan

Madison Landsman

Prudence Sekgodiso

Team of the Year

Banyana Banyana

Maties Women’s Rugby

Proteas Women

Coach of the Year

Desiree Ellis

Emily Mathosa

Eugene Da Ponte

Special Recognition

Brenda Mafunisa

Samantha Wright

Sarah Braude