Three goalkeepers have walked away with honours in the DStv Premiership individual monthly awards announced by the PSL on Thursday. 

Melusi Buthelezi of TS Galaxy FC (August), Salim Magoola from Richards Bay FC (September/October) and Mamelodi Sundowns’ Ronwen Williams (December/January), have each claimed the individual monthly gongs in the respective months, in the DStv Premiership Player of the Month category.

Also read: Stellenbosch bring Sundowns DStv winning streak to an end

The trio of shot stoppers produced several stellar performances and match-winning saves for their teams with each keeping five clean sheets in the respective months, contributing immensely to their team’s formidable form at the time.

The PSL have announced DStv Premiership monthly awards winners
Rulani Mokwena has won the December/January coach of the month

This is the first time in a domestic Premiership season that three goalkeepers win individual monthly awards during the campaign. Hugo Marques, the former Cape Town City goalkeeper, was the last goalie to win the prize back in May 2022.

The judging panel for the DStv Premiership monthly awards consisting of commentators, analysts and journalists, selected Jose Riveiro of Orlando Pirates, SuperSport United’s Gavin Hunt, and Rhulani Mokwena of Mamelodi Sundowns as the winners of the DStv Premiership Coach of the Month, for August, September/October, and December/January respectively.

The three coaches dominated their fellow colleagues in the league, masterminding some incredible results with an impressive style of football and recording the less draws and defeats during the said months.

Meanwhile, details of the newly revamped DStv Premiership Goal of the Month award will be announced in due course.

PSL announces first DStv Premiership monthly awards:

August:Melusi Buthelezi (TS Galaxy)Jose Riveiro (Orlando Pirates)
Salim Magoola (Richards Bay)Gavin Hunt (SuperSport United)
Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Rhulani Mokwena (Mamelodi Sundowns)