The Ngoako Ramatlhodi sports complex in Seshego, outside Polokwane, Limpopo will host the 2023 USSA National Volleyball tournament.

Polokwane has been chosen to host the coveted 2023 Edition of the USSA National Institutional Indoor Volleyball Tournament.

23 University Students Male Teams and 23 Female Teams will invade Limpopo Province. Big guns across the country will be there at the epitome of university volleyball, only second to the VSA National League.

Also read: Black belts promotions for Limpopo Karatekas

The Limpopo Volleyball Association has urged people to come in numbers. Watch the moves usually seen during the Olympic Games.

“Come and support the University of Limpopo and the University of Venda. The bona fide true representatives of the province,” the said.

Limpopo to host USSA National volleyball tournament
Limpopo Championship


Previously, UL broke the record and finished 5th and they are loading up all arsenals to clinch the poll position. Univen on the other hand has braced up and exhibited an appreciable level of organization culminating in commanding remarkable log standings at the LVA league.

Limpopo Province has long been achieving greatness at national volleyball tournaments across gender and age groups. This will be an opportunity for the stakeholders to physically see, get enticed, and recognize the tenacity and dexterity of our young adults.


Dinare and Dinose, the Limpopo softball men and women respectively, are happily encamped in Seshego township, outside of Polokwane. They are buoyed by the thrill of adventure ahead of the National Provincial Championships.

The inter-provincial tourney pitches off on 21 March to 25 at Hoy Park, Durban in KwaZulu Natal.

Also read: Limpopo Softball Association Super League pitches off

The event, played under the auspices of Softball South Africa, is the national game’s Holy Grail in which all the nine provinces converge to exchange bats.

Dinare and Dinose are bracing themselves for heavier seas in the coastal province this coming week where Koloi Kekana and Biya Matlala’s brave army will fight on the tumultuous battlefield for the first time.

Also read: Soshanguve Cycling club tour Limpopo to raise funds 

There have been sweeping changes, particularly in the men’s team, following the mass exodus of some of the “senior” players. Paving way for newcomers to shine in the theater of dreams.

Dinare will be in the Zulu Kingdom solidly entrenched as the defending champions having won this tournament six times in succession. The first-ever province to also achieve this praiseworthy feat.

*MABEBA is the Limpopo Softball Association’s Head of Marketing and Publicity and PRO is Capricorn Sports Confederation

The Limpopo Volleyball Association hosted their annual opening Tournament at the Ngoako Ramatlhodi Sports Complex in Seshego on Saturday.

The games are also used as curtain raisers before the league and different tournaments begin. They are open to every club within the province of Limpopo.

Some of the male teams who participated at the tournament include Kamplits, Makhado F, University of Limpopo, Bulldogs, Vhadaras, PVC, Juventus, Bullfighters, Valencia, Vaalwater, Masokolara, Blouberg, Rochers, Evergreen and Kgabo.

The female teams were Rockers A, University of Limpopo, PVC, Rockers B, Bullfighters and Valencia.

“With this tournament, as the association we wanted to have the time to address a few things regarding the new season to the teams, team managers and players,” explained media and marketing director Zwonaka Tshivhase. 

Players taking instructions during Limpopo Volleyball Association opening tournament
Players taking instructions during Limpopo Volleyball Association opening tournament

“It was also an opportunity for the players and teams to affiliate. Though the affiliation and registration period is still on until 10 March before the first league games. We also wanted to see how many teams we should expect this season,” he said.


The Limpopo Volleyball League is set to begin in March. 20 male teams and 15 females are expected to take part in the 2023 season. 

All the league matches will be played in two venues, namely Ngoako Ramatlhodi Sports Complex, Seshego and also at Peter Mokaba outdoor courts.

The Peter Mokaba outdoor courts is as an alternative if Ngoako Ramatlhodi Sports Complex is not available. 

League action will also commence on the 11 March 2023 and end on the 8 July 2023.


President: Atand Segodi

Deputy President: Peter Legodi

General Secretary: Elizabeth Otsweleng

Treasurer: Wilson Matlaisane

Competitions Director: Tshepo Shirindi

PRO and Media: Zwonaka Tshivhase

Technical Director: Hendrick Shirindi

Beach Director: Mahlatse Pheeha

Development Director: Thabo Molokomme

Gender and Transformation: Busi Ngwenya

School Sport: Koketso Leso 


ALSO READ: Fifth edition of the Limpopo Championship launched